Who We Are

I have been a Kiva lender since 2007 and I’m excited to be introducing new lenders to the concept of micro-finance.  I love living in the Pacific Northwest and am proud to be a native Oregonian.  My husband and I enjoy spending time with our three sons, two daughters-in-law, and our adorable grandson.  I've recently retired from my career as an architectural designer.  My interests include skiing, biking, hiking, cooking, knitting, reading, and creating iPhoto books of our travels.  The women in my bookgroup are some of my closest friends. 

I was born in Idaho but came to Portland to attend the University of Portland in 1964 and have lived here ever since. My husband and I have 3 children, all of whom are married - 2 sons and 1 daughter. We are very blessed to have 5 grandchildren all under the age of 2 1/2. I am a retired elementary teacher and enjoy traveling, reading, hiking and most recently quilt-making. My favorite quote is from Ghandi - "Be the change you wish to see in the world". 

Our book club is turning a new page, and I am thrilled to be a part of that change.
After reading so many books that tell of the difference one person can make, we
are hoping to make a big difference in the lives of many people by joining KIVA.
An Oregonian to the core, my favorite pasttime is exploring Oregon's beauty. I 
also enjoy travel, which I do when I'm not busy teaching. My husband and I will 
celebrate 35 years of marriage this summer with our three adult children. 


I made my first Kiva loan in April 2010 to Yahaira, a recent emigrant from Haiti to the Dominican Republic. My small loan combined with other small loans to help Yahira purchase supplies for her beauty salon. Yahaira will use her income from the salon to further the education of her children. It is so gratifying to know that I can do something so simple to make a difference in a woman’s life as well as the lives of her children. My own life is enriched by family and friends. My husband and I have three grown children, two of whom are married. We enjoy time with them, their spouses and our large extended family. Professionally, I have been a registered nurse for 33 years and still enjoy my work. I also enjoy Irish music and love to dance!

I am a middle school teacher and director of curriculum, originally from Arkansas. My husband and I have three grown children, a son and two daughters. One of our daughters was in the Peace Corps for two years in Paraguay, and has since lived in Bolivia, India, Mexico, and Argentina. Our other daughter has lived in Peru and Spain. Both have helped to open my eyes to the great need of so many around the world. I'm excited to have the opportunity to provide small loans to women entrepreneurs.


Kiva is such an exciting opportunity for our book group to be able to share with family and friends.  A little about me -  I am fifth generation Oregonian, daughter, wife, mom to four grown sons, and soon to be mother-in-law for the first time!  My current work is to support the staff of our county who work with the mentally ill population, but after years of working in the retail/wholesale sector I must admit I am drawn to support the women we are introduced to through Kiva who have that entrepreneurial spirit.